SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kgpoling_gw

Saving seeds, Genetics in individual fruit or plant?

KGPoling
10 years ago

Hello everyone!

So this is my first year collecting seed for next season and I have a very nice plant producing some delicious fruit but of different sizes. If I am to collect seed from the plant does it matter if I pick the biggest tomato for seed or is all the same genetic material present in all the tomatoes from the same plant (Assuming they were self pollinated)?

Thank you!

Comments (15)

• fireduck
    10 years ago

My understanding is you must save seeds from open-pollinated varieties. These will be true to the mother plant.

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

It is generally recommend that you save the seed from several different fruit from the plant for the best genetic sampling. And as fireduck said, only seed from open-pollinated are normally saved. Hybrid seeds will not breed true.

Dave

• Related Discussions

Genetics and Seed size?

Q

Comments (3)
    Proof? No. It doesn't exist because there are far too many variables in your hypothesis - "larger seeds = better plant and better harvest" - to be able to prove it. Opinions? Sure. Millions of them. ;) Post it on the Seed Saving forum or the Growing Tomatoes forum as it comes up for discussion both places now and then if you want to get opinions. IMPO based on many years of growing tomatoes from seed - with the exceptions of very old seeds or very dessicated seeds or seeds that were improperly stored - it makes little or no difference. Instead it is the growing conditions provided, once germinated, that have the greatest impact on plant health and production. Dave
    ...See More

Genetics 101 (re seeds I saved)

Q

Comments (5)