Gray Flycatcher nest

birding_nut

Here are some pictures of a Gray Flycatcher nest I found. The nest is about 2-3 feet off the ground in the central crotch of a ponderosa pine sapling.

First is the female incubating.

This is 2 of the four eggs in the nest (one later disappaeared)

This is the 3 nestlings at 14 days old and ready to fledge at day 16.

BN

SaveComment10Like
Comments (10)
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
catherinet

Oh wow! Great pics! Are those feathers or fur that lined the nest? Thanks for sharing!

Save    
claireplymouth z6b coastal MA

Those are very well camouflaged birds in that nest! 2-3 feet off the ground sounds awfully dangerous as far as predators are concerned. Luckily the birders aren't a threat, even ones that take lovely pictures.

Claire

Save    
birding_nut

I suppose I should have stated that I am a wildlife biologist who is studying the reproductive success of this species in managed ponderosa pine forests...and not just a birder. LOL. That was my purpose for finding the nest and monitoring its progress. Despite its close distance to the ground, this nest will probably be the first nest to fledge young this year compared to nests that are in trees ranging up to 11 m (33 ft roughly) high. So far, 69% of the nests I have found and monitored have failed. All have failed due to nest predation, except one that failed due to weather. It is a tough life for such a small passerine with an open cup nest, trying to raise a brood. Luckily, they readily renest after a nest failure. This is the first year of a three year study, so hopefully nest success will be higher in the next 2 years. I also measure habitat variables associated with each nest site, when nesting is completed, in order to determine if any of these variables influence nest survival. This will allow us to better manage for the species if populations begin to decline as has happened with so many other Neotropical migrants. So far, the population of this species in