SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
dwlcrl

strawberries

dwlcrl
15 years ago

this is a small message i sent to a local farmer here so that you can go thru it real quick...

-------------------------------------

thank you for letting us pick strawberies this year from your feilds..

i wanted to let you know a few things while we were picking strawberries and also may come in handy when you go to try to figure out your profits and losses for this year.

one thing we found this year we coundnt get our vehicle close enough to where we were picking...

this might be a disadvantage for some of us for access...

i have been picking from your place for several years and this has become a yearly ritual for our family.

we pick strawberries and make jellies and freeze them as well..

we share alot of our stuff with others as well..

this year we got there a little later then usual tring to be the first ones to get there...

due to being a little later from having worked all day then getting there we didnt get to pick as many strawberries as normal...

we pick about 3 five gallon buckets from your place and this year i had 4 buckets plus a mop bucket that hold about 2.5 gallons..

and had hoped to fill it as well..

so maybe this timeing thing was a blessing in disguise...

we found going back about half ways was when picking -alot of the crop was totally over ran -or your losses were from briar weeds totally over running your strawberries and killed about half or better of your plantings...

and from the half way point going back alot of your strawberries were way over ripe and the bottom half couldnt be picked because they were mush or so over ripe bugs and animals had been eating on them and now eating the good berries..

we were able to pick a few on top that normally would have been green..

i hope in this letter it helps provide you with better quality for the following years..