SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
newyorkrita

Many, Many Pictures of the Shrub Border

newyorkrita
16 years ago

Some of you who have been here a long time like I have know that I have been posting for many years about the yard makeover here. I have done a mixed shrub border running the length of my property line on one side and it has really turned the yard into a bird attracting magnet. Finially, here are some pictures.

This should give people an idea of what can be done in a space that is not really that big.

My yard is very much cottage garden style. Heavily planted with little lawn and a mixture of all sorts of plants both to attract the birds, bees and butterflies and flowers to give the garden color. Captions underneath the pictures.

First shot of the shrub line with a closeup of Cardinal Candy Viburnum. The border runs along the shadier side of my property line and hides my neighbors driveway from view. The sunnier side near the house is a rose and daylily garden. As you can see, there is not much lawn in the side yard.

This is a view from down the front side yard of the exact spot that I was standing in to take the prior picture. The really big Viburnum is Wentworth and I have three of them in my yard. You would never guess the driveway is behind them.

Another shot near the same spot.

View of the side yard with more of the sunny side in view.

Just a slightly different angle.

A view off my backyard patio. The shrubs start just off to the right of the view in this picture.

Shot in a similiar location. I call this part Azaela Hill and it runs right into the side yard shrub border.

Here is the view of the back patio looking towards the side yard shrub border.

These stairs go up to the top level of my yard and are located just to the left of the view in the prior picture.

Taken at the top of the stars looking toward the right and what will run into the shrub border.

{{gwi:234775}}