SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
gonefishin_gw

Pretty Uglies

gonefishin
16 years ago

Well, I looked all the way past page 14 and did a search of this forum and could not find a recent thread about several of us growing the Ugly tomato because of comments we had seen about people raving about them when they hit the shelves in the supermarkets in Florida.

This is my first year trying them and while we have been inundated with way too much rain, Ugly has impressed me with the apparent productivity, no pest problems and only a few yellowing leaves thus far.

It looks like it will be a winner in my garden if the taste is up there on my taste list, and it looks like before I can try them. (This is just the bottom cluster on one plant)

The first few tomatoes that we had to eat were a little bland from all the rain water, but the Merced has actually had an excellent taste, are prolific also and the largest one so far has been 13 Oz.

Bill P.

Comments (47)

• tomatovator
    16 years ago

I agree Bill. I should have 2 ripe ones by the end of the week. We'll see how they taste but they are very productive so far and look very healthy. Mine are sort of a semi-determinate plant. They are not very tall and have 5 or 6 thick stems. I hope they taste good because I do like the growth habit of the plants.

• jwr6404
    16 years ago

What was the origin of the name for this nice looking variety?

• Related Discussions

calm before the storm, and my first seedling, ..although ugly

Q

Comments (4)
    IMHO that is acutually respectable compared to a few I've seen bloom in my seedling beds. You know it's bad when you have to grab your right hand with your left to keep yourself from yanking it out of the ground immediately upon seeing it's FFO. I think it was Brook who said something about if they are butt ugly from the start, they aren't like get better with age. LOL I would definately give that one there some more time before making a decision. Linda
    ...See More