SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
pskvorc

I Probably Shouldn't Have Looked...

pskvorc
9 years ago

I recently went on a two week trip away from home. Basdon what I have read here and on other sites, I made no arrangements for anyone ot look in on my indoor worm bins during that time. When I got back, everything was "OK" in the bins, but there were/are a lot of white "dots" all over the side of the plastic bins. For a couple of days, I've been saying I was going to put some of those white dots under a microscope and have a look at what they are. I did that today. Probably should have just let sleeping dogs lie.

I took a 'random sample' of 'stuff' out of the bin including some leaf litter. Here are some pictures of what I saw:

I don't know about you, but I find those pictures, except for the springtails, disgusting. I'm not an expert, but I'm fairly certain those non-springtails are all mites. I hate mites, ticks, and spiders. (Spare me the "beneficial" nature of spiders. I acknowledge that, but I don't care. I still don't like them.)

I took some video too. I'm struggling with getting that uploaded, but when I do, you'll be the second to know.

I don't know where these 'vermin' may have come from. It is highly likely that I inoculated the bins when I put local leaves in. OR... they could have come from some of the worms I got off off the internet. I suspect I will never know. Given the small population of worms in the indoor bins, I have a mind to 'clorox' the damn things and start anew with "sterilized" worms. (I have a 'clever plan' :) to accomplish that.)

Paul

Comments (26)

• sonshine_07
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago