SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
andreaz6wv

getting rid of my sf garden

andreaz6wv
14 years ago

I have grew and expanded my sf garden for 3 years now, but am tearing it out this season. I just think my things would do so much better in a regular garden. I am convinced 6 inches is not enough depth. My things grow, but they don't produce a harvest like anyone one I know who has a regular garden.

I will take some of my beds and stack them and make some nice herb beds somewhere else in the yard. I can use the rest of the wood to make another hoophouse this year.

Oh well, I just am not happy with the set up anymore.

Andrea

Comments (47)

• happycappy
    14 years ago

Hello to Andrea,

Thanks for your comments on SFG - tearing out your 6" of soil. I'm just getting started with plans for some raised vegetable beds next spring - like the idea of SFG, but had my doubts about the six inches. I'm planning on 12" and now hearing your feedback, I'll stick with the deeper beds.
    So excited about this new venture. I've been a passionate gardener for years, but haven't had a vegetable garden in ages. Reading up and making plans.
    Thanks for your comments.
    Cappy (Cappy is short for Capella)

• luke3026
    14 years ago

Interesting. Last year I had my raised beds, made from 2x10's, sitting on top of gravel and I had a great harvest. Soil depth was probably 8 to 9 inches at most. But this coming year, we're rearranging some things in the backyard and will place the raised beds on top of our (already pretty good) native soil so if the the roots want more depth, they can take it.

• Related Discussions

I have ants on the plants in my garden...how do I get rid of them

Q

Comments (9)