SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bdobs

Can I start from seed in my garage??

bdobs
15 years ago

Hi guys

I've been growing for 2 years now, but I have always just bought seedlings from the local nursery.

I'm thinking it would be fun to start from seed, but I have a few issues.

My house is super small, especially now that we have our new daughter :), and the only place I could set something up is my garage.

I live in the SF east Bay Area, Martinez., my zone is 8b or 9.

February is usually 50's/60's day, 40's night, but we do get cold snaps where it can get all the way down to the low 20's at times.

I'm thinking I could get a couple double florescent balasts for light, and the necessary flats/cups and mix I read about in the FAQ section, and set something up on my large work bench.

Heating the garage is out of the question as I have seen the huge increase in our electric bill from keeping the babies room heated.

Do I have any options for starting the little guys in my cold garage?

Thanks

Brian

Comments (36)

• jel7
    15 years ago

Arrange your "mini-greenhouse" centered on the garage wall nearest your heated house. The heat loss from your house will benefit your greenhouse.

Good luck,

John

• Related Discussions

What can I start from seed now in zone 10?

Q

Comments (4)