SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
editornj

Stressing about drainage, building bed, etc.

editornj
15 years ago

I have a few layers of a lasagna garden going--cardboard, leaves, kitchen scraps, newspaper, more leaves--on top of my sandy soil on a lot that tends to flood (but not in the location I selected for the garden).

Should I dig down and turn over the soil beneath the lasagna layers?

Should I drill holes into the ground and fill them with gravel?

Should I put 4" Mel's mix on top, stir it up, then add more Mel's mix (this idea came from another Garden Webber -- thanks!)?

I'm hoping to make a longer-term plan here (synthetic lumber for boxes, at least 12" of depth) to avoid having to redo everything years from now. I'm new to gardening, and even though I realize many mistakes will be made, I don't want to screw up too badly.

Any other thoughts before I construct this baby this weekend? Thanks.

Comments (30)

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Should I dig down and turn over the soil beneath the lasagna layers?
    Should I drill holes into the ground and fill them with gravel?

First one IMHO is best. Gravel holes is for hardpan or heavy clay. If you don't have these, incorporate new into native ~4-6 inches.

Dan

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    15 years ago

I'm wondering what turning over a sandy soil will accomplish, unless you're turning organic matter INTO it. I don't think it would accomplish anything - I'm assuming your first layers were newspaper, cardboard, or something to choke the weeds/grass?

I'm also quite certain that the gravel-filled holes wouldn't help at all. Actually, Editornj, if you don't mind the crosstalk, maybe someone could tell us/me just exactly what the gravel-filled holes are supposed to accomplish in even a hard clay soil? My first impression is that it would be wasted effort, but I'm willing to be educated if there is something I'm missing.