SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
hortwoman

Calling all serious shade gardeners....

Hortwoman
19 years ago

Hi! I am new to shade/woodland gardening and have been doing some studying and observing our site. I have a few questions and would appreciate advice and info from you all.

I have a very large project that is going to take about 2 years before I am able to do any planting. We just moved to a home in the country last fall. Our home is bordered by existing woodland area that just begs to be cleaned up and revitalized. There are no existing natural plants that need to be salvagedthe plants that exist are almost 100% poison ivy!!

The area is about 250 x 30 feet. Most of the area right now is existing lawn. My plan is to put a path down the middle of it and have a mainly hosta area in the first half and a shade garden/woodland plants in the backside.

My questions: #1 getting rid of the poison ivy. Is this going to be a difficult task?? We are in the process of using roundup to kill this crap off. We have to be very careful of how much we kill at one time because not far off is a steep slope and we could have landslides in heavy rain. The slope leads off into the woods so it wouldnÂt matter if it happened but I donÂt want to lose that section of the yard to it. The problem is, I am not ready to replant yet once the existing plants are removed. If we remove the poison ivy with round up, how invasive are the roots of it?? I mean, will it return quickly? Will we have to till/plow this area up to completely get rid of it?

My plan is to lay down the black weed mat this fall and to mulch heavily so that next spring everything will be able to die off. Will this also cause a problem for the slope giving away??