SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
daimonic_gw

Sugar Snap Peas

daimonic
17 years ago

Hi all,

I'm pretty new here, so please be kind. I'm also new to Colorado, and to trying to garden in the tiny plod of land behind my townhome. (used to 4 acres in New England!)

My specific question regards Sugarsnap peas, which I acquired from Botanical Interests seeds in Broomfield, CO. I don't really know what I was thinking at the time, but I planted about 20 seeds in jiffy pots on March 20. (I am growing these all in containers, two 20 inch by 8 inch by 8 inchers). Somehow, I had a 100% germination rate, and now I have 20 4-5 inch tall pea plants with multiple leaves that are looking ready to start twining themselves around a trellis. I'm concerned about keeping them indoors (mainly because they're almost touching the floro lights in my seedling starter area). I had no idea this variety grew so quickly! The packet directions state that you should plant "in early spring, as soon as soil can be worked and soil temps are above 40 degrees."

Is it safe to move these babies into their permanent home? I realize that I could bring the containers inside if we still have an infamous Colorado spring blizzard, but the idea of moving a trellis or two inside doesn't sound at all appealing or practical.

Another question that I have regards some reading I've been doing, that recommends treating the soil with inoculant granules, and mixing in some bone meal to the potting soil before you transplant (yes, I know transplanting is not recommended, but this is the situation I've gotten myself into). Does anyone have an opinion on that?

Sorry for the long post, I hope someone can help me with these newbie questions!!! Thanks

Comments (15)

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Would WE be mean! ***evil laugh***

Hi daimonic,