SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
docmom_mn_zone_5

Anyone tried cuttings of Virginia Creeper?

docmom_gw
14 years ago

I'm brand new to propagating from anything but seed. I want to fill my yard with Virginia Creeper and I have a friend who has oodles of it growing on her deck. In the past I've tried transplanting with poor results, even with a decent size root ball. I've searched Gardenweb and other sites and found conflicting recommendations about the best timing for taking softwood cuttings. I've had decent results starting from seed, but I can't ever find enough seeds left on the vines to get the numbers of plants I want. Has anyone here taken cuttings from Virginia Creeper, and what was your experience? Thanks in advance. Oh, and can you root cuttings directly in a soil substitute, or should it always be sand?

Martha

Comments (6)

• yiorges-z5il
    14 years ago

tAKE 2 EYE (NODES) CUTTINGS OF FIRM NEW GROWTH APPLY 0.3% iba (rOOTING HORMONE) STICK IN WELL DRAINED SOIL & MIST. TAKING 25-70 DAYS TO ROOT

• Related Discussions

Propagating Virginia Creeper?

Q

Comments (3)
    Yes, it grows from cuttings. It should easily root for you whereever you place it in soil along its vines. I usually have some Virginia Creeper at my perennial sale each year here in Brandon. In the spring, I just dig out a few of the rooted runners that are along the ground at the base of the plant. I have never tried its seeds but if you have seedlings, sure, transplant them.
    ...See More

Virginia creeper

Q

Comments (16)