SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
raoulie

Thai chili plant. . . really shrubby?

raoulie
14 years ago

Hi

So my dad got me a thai chili plant he saw from the chinese area in our city (toronto) several weeks ago, and I figured I might as well take a crack at growing it. Havent grown anything before this besides a mint plant I remember throughout my childhood, so its my first time to growing in general. It was only about 4 or 5 inches tall with maybe 10 leaves when I first got it with no buds and had roots sticking out of the bottom of the little pot (which I read is what to look for, no buds or fruit when you are buying a grown plant itself), and now the first 7 or so buds at the top all flowered and have fruit (did some hand pollination with a q-tip).

Got a couple CFL's (the bluish and yellow kind) since the weather has been INCREDIBLY erratic with ultra hot days (explains the couple sunburnt leaves when I left it out a bit too long) and then cloudy/cold days which is what I got the lights for and it seems to be doing great with them, because theres been alot of cloudy days.