SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
sflgplume

Pics of my very first blooms!

12 years ago

Hi everyone,

Last August I made the 45 minute drive down to see Carol and Luc at Florida Colors, and drove home with my first three cultivars.

Of course, I own many more now (yikes), but I'm still a newbie. I love these flowers but wasn't sure if I'd have success getting them to flower, because I live in a condo with east-west orientation and can only provide my plumies with a half day of Florida sunshine at most. I have them all on the western patio, of course, but I had my doubts that it would be enough sun to bring blooms.

I'm still waiting for inflos on many of my plants, but some others have them, and yesterday, my first blooms opened--it was pretty awesome, I gotta say. Now I'm REALLY hooked!

Since I don't see any pictures of her posted anywhere in this forum, I wanted to share Aimhorn with you--isn't she beautiful?

These were taken after our first rain shower in what has to be at least two months--seriously dry here in South Florida, and we are overrun with gumbo limbo spiralling whitefly, which proliferates in the dryness. (You can see some of their damage on the right in the first pic) They are vile! I have to scrape sticky whitefly eggs and nymphs off my plumies and other plants every morning. But having these flowers makes it all worth it!

Greg

Comments (17)

• 12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Congratulations! It's a beautiful flower!
    Your pictures look almost like paintings. Very cool!

• 12 years ago

Those are very pretty flowers. Half day sun is fine to get blooms. In fact, sometimes full all day sun is a bit much and the flowers fade quickly.

Your plumie looks very healthy!

Tony

• Related Discussions

First bloom on my Livin Easy rose pic

Q

Comments (4)