SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
chickencoupe1

Onions from Seed: Oklahoma Newbies Here

chickencoupe
9 years ago

Warning: I am not an expert gardener. That being said, it's important to listen to other more experienced members over what I write here. I hope this helps anyone just starting out with onions - especially in Oklahoma and especially if they're poor, like me, and buying sets in January is not likely to occur (though it's recommended).

*If you're a newb to gardening, buy onion sets in January.
If you start onions from seed in fall, be ready to buy sets in January.
Don't expect huge success, if at all.
Check our forum for common varieties that do well before buying seed. Keyword: "Oklahoma Gardenweb, how to onions"
If you're like me and cannot afford to buy starts in January, read on.