SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
phildeez_gw

Phil's First Pepper Garden (2011)

Phildeez
12 years ago

This is a remake of my initial picture thread, I want to add pics throughout the season and appreciate any feedback or response pictures with similar pepper plants of your own.

This is my first year with a real garden (although it is tiny, I consider it real!) and most of it is hot peppers. I owe a lot if not all of my success thus far to this forum.

A Serrano and de Arbol that have struggled through a lot of pests and cold. They are very leggy and skinny but I think they will beef up soon.

Manzano amarillo, pair of Orange habs, and NuMex Big Jim top right. The Big Jim is the real performer, the stem is fast becoming a tree trunk, I snipped the first buds because the peppers are supposed to be so large and the plant isn't very tall yet.

Other Manzano amarillo in larger pot, will be paying attention to see if the size makes a difference.

NO idea why these leaves are coming in like this on my Mammoth Jalape�o. I think it may damage from that nasty storm a week ago with pea-sized hail.

I counted a dozen or more peppers on the Hot Cherries today.

Cajun Belle, only a handful of peppers but I am excited to try one.

My other peppers are not worth taking pictures of yet, it has been a rough spring!

Thanks again to everybody for all of the knowledge and help you provide on these forums for the simple reason of helping other human beings. Something we need more of in this world right now.

-Phil

Comments (58)

• Spongey600
    12 years ago

Thanks! i am almost tempted to bring my 7pot/Bhut to my office which is 10 miles inland and 5-10F hotter than at my apt and put the outside my office window so they can get lots of sun/warmer weather to help them along a little bit! HAHAHA i hope your plants dont get all shriveled up on you! that would be terrible!

Eric

• Phildeez
    Original Author
    12 years ago