SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
susanlynne48

Help With Tomato Ripening

susanlynne48
13 years ago

Okay, so far so good, but I have TONS of green tomatos! I have about 25 Rutgers coming on, too many to count of Supersweet 100, several Black Cherry and Burpee Super Beefsteak, and lots of Red Currant.

If we get a frost, should I cover with sheets or something? Should I cut the plants at the base and hang upside down somewhere? Just wanting a heads up on what I need to do to save as many as possible should the weather turn inordinately cold.

I have more tomatos now than I ever had in spring.

Susan

Comments (8)

• joellenh
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I am a complete novice but we had a light frost about a week ago and per Dawn I covered EVERYTHING. She also said to water well to protect the roots, which I did. I also have a million tomatoes coming in, and I plan to eat every last one.

I have a big old stack of blankets on the ready. Frost can kiss my shiny hiney! I will beat it ;).

Jo

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    13 years ago

Susan,

There's always tons of green tomatoes as frost approaches. That's the heartbreaking thing about fall tomatoes.....by the time the plants are just covered with fruit, the nights are getting chilly.

There are several ways to deal with them, and the choice is yours.

I usually move a couple of the containers to the garage where I drag them out into the sun during the daytime and drag them back inside the garage at night. I've kept plants producing until at least the end of December that way. However, as daylength and temperatures decrease, so does flavor and I believe that occurs because you need lots of heat and light to get the best and most full-flavored fruit.