SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jennieboyer

How quickly should pepper seedlings grow?

jennieboyer
11 years ago

Attached is a picture of my pepper seedlings - were planted on February 8th, and pictures taken today. Seedlings seem to be healthy, but growing VERY slowly. None have more than a fourth (very small) true leaf yet. They are under fluorescent grow lights. Is this pretty typical? Should I do anything for them (fertilize, etc)? In my zone, it is probably warm enough by early/mid April to put them out. OK to do this when so small, or should I wait until they are bigger? How big? How do I help them along? TIA!

Comments (34)

• cjohansen
    11 years ago

I am no expert (first-time grower), but that seedling looks very small for its age. By "fourth true leave", do you mean four actual leaves, or four pairs (i.e eight leaves)?

What's your lighting situation? What's their output, and do you know the color temperature? Looks like you have tubes hanging over the plants? How close are the lights to the plants, and how many plants under the lights?

I sowed around the same time you did, and my Jalapenos are 4-8" tall (I buried some while potting up), have 10-20 leaves and are generally growing quite fast. My slowest growers are Habaneros, but even those have 3-4 pairs of leaves by now.

• Bill_Missy
    11 years ago

They look to moist to me. Also, with two in the same pot that size they could be fighting each other at the root level. No expert, first year really growing, just my 2 cents.

Bill

• Related Discussions

pic: pepper seedlings growing under new Hydrofarm T5 lights

Q

Comments (2)