SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
firstyear_gw

Peppers simply aren't growing, now turning pale

firstyear
15 years ago

Hi all,

This is my first year gardening since I was a little kid helping my mother. I've been following the forums here like a bible for the past couple months and been having very good luck with nearly all my starts...except for my hot peppers (Hungarian Wax and Salsa Delight).

I thought I'd get a jump on the season and start 2 of each in early February 6 directly in 4" pots using Miracle Gro potting soil, pretty much just to see how they would grow. By Feb 11, the first were up and a few days later the cotyledons were free on them all. I've kept them about 2 inches from fluorescent lights and between 62 and 75 degrees the whole time. Natural temperature of the room is 62, then I start to second guess myself and put them under a heat mat for a few days, see no change so I take it away. I've been giving them a very small dose of balanced fertilizer every few weeks. I do water once a week, but it's a very generous watering (perhaps too much).