SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
corgi_gw

Chordyline Transplant?

corgi
15 years ago

I have a large Chordyline I have been growing in a pot for several years. It is doing really well but getting to a size I think maybe more condusive in the ground. I am concerned about our wet winters here and the odd -10 days. Overwintering to date has been in the pot, fronds wrapped up, stored in the car port. I would hate to loose her now given how well she looks. Should she go in the ground? Should I keep it in the pot and continue as is? Help?!

Thanks

Comments (9)

• Embothrium
    15 years ago

Yes, it may be damaged by -10C/14F. However, plants growing in ground often re-grow from root crowns. Plant it out in a warm nook. Especially if you are quite near salt water it may do well for you.

• corgi
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I'm not near the water, rather up the mountain a way. I think I may lean toward leaving it in a pot. I just measured the plant and it's currently about 7 feet tall (in the pot.) The diameter of the frond ball is about 4 feet across. It's very healthy and in great shape.I'm sure you can appreciate why I don't want to loose her. Perhaps I could increase the pot size and continue what I have been doing?

• Embothrium
    15 years ago

At some point you're going to have an even bigger plant, these grow quite large where conditions permit. You may be rapidly approaching a time where you can no longer manage a potted specimen of such size.

• undercover_owl
    15 years ago

Well, -10 sounds too chilly for cordyline / dracaena. That's zone 8, really?

My dracaenas survived the terrible winter of 2006-2007 sitting in black plastic nursery pots outdoors! They died back to the ground, but they came back vigorously in the spring. Being in pots is, of course, more stressful in the winter time than being in the ground.

If you planted it in the ground, you could protect the top with wrapping in the winter.

• corgi
    Original Author
    15 years ago