SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
canokie

Do I need grow lights?

Shelley Smith
12 years ago

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to this seed starting thing. The last couple of years all I've started was a few tomato and pepper plants 6-8 weeks prior to planting using yogurt cups in a sunny south-facing window. I decided to go 'pro' this year and bought a shelving system that is 6 feet tall and 3 feet wide (the same width as one of my windows). It has 5 adjustable shelves and I can fit three 32-cell seedling flats that I got at TLC on each shelf. The idea was to maximize the amount of space for seedlings in my one south-facing window. However, the seedlings I planted a couple of weeks ago (mostly spinach, lettuce, broccoli and cauliflower) have stretched out stems reaching for the light, even though I rotate them every day. I don't know if I should have waited till the days were longer, or if the trays on the higher shelves are shading the lower trays too much... Is the stretched-out stems a problem, or will they resume normal proportions once I plant them outside?

I've been reading some of the posts in the archive and it seems like most of you use grow lights. Are they necessary to get good seedlings? If so, how much does it add to your electric bill in the months that you have these going? And if I put a shelving system in my garage with grow lights, would the seedlings be warm enough out there in the unheated garage, or would I need to keep them in the house?

I'd love to hear what everybody else does. Thanks in advance - you all are so great about helping newbies like me!

Comments (14)

• joellenh
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I can only answer a small portion of your question. I started seeds last year in my unheated garage under ordinary shop lights (not grow lights), and they did very well. I kept the cups on large cookies sheets, and on nice days I moved entire trays out for some real sun. :)

Jo

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    12 years ago