SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
melissa_nc_gw

Hello, my name is Melissa and I'm an addict..... :)

18 years ago

I've been lurking here for a good while and thought I'd go ahead and post.

This is my first year putting out feeders and I've really gotta thank all of you folks for all the helpful suggestions and advice that you unknowingly gave me!

I live in an apartment and wasn't sure if hummingbirds would find me, but they did! I have 4 regulars...1 male, 1 female and two juveniles and I have just completely fallen in love with all of them. I actually have a little area out front that I have planted flowers in and am rethinking what to plant for next year as I want it to be as hummer friendly as possible. I have a ton of things growing in pots out back and room to add more. I have two feeders...one at my kitchen window and one hanging on my patio so we can watch them close up. Someone on here suggested putting a little branch perch on the feeder chain and I did that and it works beautifully! My adult male in particular seems to like those perches...guess it gives him a great vantage point to see and chase the others.

Anyway, just wanted to introduce myself and say thanks...and ask...what in the world does everyone do when the hummers migrate?? Dishwashing sure is gonna be boring again without their antics to watch.

Comments (30)

• 18 years ago

Welcome aboard Melissa,There is no way that your going to turn your back on them, Your Hooked. but fortunatly I don't have withdrawles, So I await comments from the East Coast.

• 18 years ago

Hi Melissa and welcome to the addict's forum! LOL A place where we can relate to the fact that our friends and family think we've lost our minds when we start screaming upon that first sighting of the first hummer of the season at are spots (at least those of us in places where they migrate away for winter).