SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
zeedman

Paprika pepper powder

I grew several paprika peppers this year, and this is my first attempt at making my own paprika powder. I de-seeded the ripe peppers, cut them into strips, and dehydrated them. Then I ground them in a blender.

The powder is the correct consistency, dark red, and very tasty - but it clumps badly after sitting for awhile. Has anyone else experienced this? I wonder if the variety is a factor, since my hot pepper powder doesn't clump. Any suggestions?

Comments (20)

• david52 Zone 6
    17 years ago

It sounds as if it just isn't dry enough. Can you put the powder back in the dehydrator for a bit?

• John__ShowMe__USA
    17 years ago

I agree with David. Would guess that I have dehydrated maybe a hundred different varieties of peppers and not dry enough is the only reason I can think of unless your storage container isn't airtight or you open it really often.

The only time I've needed a flow-agent is when making rubs or blends and have added something like dried tamarind beans or dried vinegar/sugar pickled peppers.

When storing powders I include a small bag of color-indicating silica gel beads. When the blue beads start changing pink as they absorb moisture I just nuke the beads to get rid of the moisture.

jt

• Related Discussions

Looking 4 Paprika Peppers, Red dicentra, Trolluis seeds, and more

Q

Comments (1)
    I have some chocolate mint I can trade. If you are interested in trading let me know. it is not a lot of seeds. I would like almost any of your veggies or Coneflower, or the Chinese baby corn or Mini Pumpkin / Mini Gourd Mix Thanks!!! Karen
    ...See More

Drying mixed peppers for hot pepper powder?

Q

Comments (7)