SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bloomville

Discolored Pickled Green Tomatoes--Are they deadly?

bloomville
17 years ago

Hi,

First, a confession: I am a novice canner/preserver.

Two weeks ago my partner and I pickled green tomatoes with whole garlic cloves. We used apple cider vinegar in our brine. We prefer the flavor to white vinegar.

Now we're noticing two issues we're a little concerned about.

The first is that there is brown coloration at the stem-end of the pickled tomatoes and the cut ends of the garlic. The second issue is that some of the garlic is tinged a greenish color.

Other ingredients that went our brine were: fresh dill, peppercorns, mustard seeds, pickling salt and some other pickling seed we can't remember offhand.

Perhaps given that we used cider vinegar these colorations are to be expected. We just want to confirm that and make sure the colorations don't indicate a problem.

Everything else about the brine/pickles looks normal.

Thanks for any insight you can offer.

Comments (23)

• readinglady
    17 years ago

I don't think we can fully answer the safety issue without knowing the recipe; the brine strength is critical. Also how you processed/stored the pickles.

Apple cider vinegar is perfectly OK as long as it's 5% strength. It does tend to darken but a lot of old recipes call for it specifically because its flavor is preferred.

As for the greenish garlic, that's perfectly fine. Garlic will sometimes turn blue due to an enzymatic reaction in the brine, but it's harmless. Pickled asparagus will sometimes turn pink for the same reason. Usually this happens with immature or insufficiently cured garlic.

Carol

• bloomville
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Carol,
    Thanks for your reply. Here are answers to your queries:

1. Yes, the cider vinegar we used was 5% strength.