SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
shiver_mn

Calling all hoya lovers

shiver
16 years ago

Hello hoya lovers! As you may know from my previous threads, I've just started venturing into the world of this interesting plant. I've purchased a few, ahem...tiny cuttings, and am looking forward to acquiring more substantial plants. On the web I mostly see pictures of hoya flowers---there's not a lot of pics of larger plants. I'd love to see your photos involving....

....How do you best display your hoyas? What established plants are you most proud of? Whay kind of hoya's do you like best just becuase they have beautiful foliage (since I'm not likely to see blooms from mine until I retire, 30 years from now!)?

Most of all, I'm interested to know why it's hoyas that have won your heart. Was it flowers/scent/something else? I've been growing plants for many years now and always thought these plants were...well...hum drum. Only now after researching a little am I beginning to appreciate what they have to offer.

So, inquiring minds want to know! Feel free to share any pics/opinions if your time allows. :)

Comments (36)

• kazzy33
    16 years ago

Hi Shiver,
    I have only started to collect Hoyas the last 2 1/2 months and they are so addictive already I have over 50 different types,Most of all I just love the foliage and when mine deciede to flower it will be a great bonus.
    what started me off was 3 months ago my grandmother died and I got a cutting off her hoya she had for over 40 years and once I got that I just had to have more hence the addiction.
    My favorite ones would have to be the "indian rope" and "serpens" but even then I can't say they would be my most favorites cause I just love them all..I would love to send you pics but still I have no idea how to post a pic on this site.So till next time have fun collecting your Hoya and trust me you won't even look at another type plant once you start with Hoyas..Happy collecting Bye for now Karen... :)

• gabro14