SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lisazone6_ma

Confused About Apple Pie Jam/Apple Pie Filling

lisazone6_ma
14 years ago

I've been reading the various threads about the applie pie jam and sorry if I'm just being dense - I'm very new to canning and am not familiar with things pros don't think twice about! - but, while the recipes look delish and I might just try them out, I'm looking for something I can actually make a pie or turnovers or things like that with. Is that possible with the apple pie "jam" recipe? Or will it be too thick and sweet?

I'm after a true apple pie filling. Also - I only have a BWB canning set-up, not a pressure canner. So I'm not sure if it's even possible with the BWB method - maybe adding lemon juice?

I successfully made pickles, but this past weekend I tried making strawberry jam - without pectin - and I think I have 7 jars of ice cream or pound cake topping, because it didn't set up firm enough and is very runny. I think I'm going to stick to recipes with pectin until I know more, altho now I'm reading you have to know what you're doing with pectin even!! Hopefully I will figure it all out!

Thanks for any help and sorry if I'm duplicating posts - I read thru some of the searches krogers has been posting (thank you!) but I didn't see an answer to my pie filling vs. jam questions.

Lisa

Comments (20)

• ksrogers
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago