SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
annnettem

I made a mistake, I think. I mixed MG into my veggie garden.

annnettem
15 years ago

I am new to veggie gartdens and need some advice please. I had a raised bed put in about 5 years ago and attempted to plant veggies in it and everything died except one cherry tomato plant. I gave up until this season. I decided to try my hand at a veggie garden again!

I needed to fill in the soil that had eroded out over the 5 years so, not knowing better, I went and got bags of MG soil for flowers and veggies. I tilled it into the exisiting soil and ordered my veggie plants and planted those a week later (about 1 week ago now).

Everything 'seems' to be doing fine, but I fear everything is going to die and I will not want to give it another go. I read and read and read on this site for two days now and I still can't find info on whether or not I should be adding anything else to this garden to keep it thriving.

I bought Espoma 5-3-3 fetilizer, dried blood 12-0-0, and diatomaceous earth to have on hand in case I have any bug problems. Do I need to be adding any of this stuff to my plants NOW? Or do I wait to see if there are any problems before adding anything else to the soil?

Also, is there anything I should be adding to the soil to make it more rich for the veggies to thrive in?

I have planted various tomatoes, 2 types of eggplants, 2 types of peppers, summer squash, and some broccoli (which I now know I shouldn't have, but am going to see how long that lasts before dying).

Any wisdom or advice on how to keep this garden alive this time around would be appreciated. I want to put the least amount of chemicals in the garden if possible at this point. (I know, I know, after reading here that the MG soil is full of them) but I really don't want to add anymore. I feel I might have made a huge mistake. I thought you just till in the MG with the existing soil, plant, and things grow. Very naive of me after reading here.