SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
espo8

I.D. Fig Variety please...

17 years ago

I've been growing this fig for ten years now. Dont know the variety, was given to me by a friend. I just found this website and was hoping one of you experts can please identify. It produces a "breba" crop, a main crop and if october is warm a third crop. Thanks Anthony

PLEASE SCROLL DOWN FOR PICTURE

{{gwi:845426}}

Comments (37)

• 17 years ago

I was able to enlarge the previous picture, hope this helps in the identification. Thanks

{{gwi:845427}}

• 17 years ago

The size and shape of the fruit is reminiscent of the variety Longue d'Aout. Following is a description from Condit in Hilgardia, p. 446:

Longue dÂAoût. Described and illustrated by Simonet et al. (1945, 1947) as a two-crop variety, grown at Sollies-Pont. Brebas above medium, up to 5 inches long and 1-3/4 inches in diameter, elongated-pyriform, very oblique; neck long and curved; stalk of medium length; surface corrugated by numerous, prominent ribs; eye slightly protruding, open, scales brownish; color of skin golden yellow, with brown tinge on the sunny side; pulp light red; flavor insipid. Second-crop figs medium, 2-1/4 inches long, pyriform, somewhat ribbed; neck short, or none; stalk up to 3/4 inch in length; eye closed; skin green, flushed with violet-brown; pulp rose-colored; quality mediocre.

Merry Christmas!

Joe

• Related Discussions

Help I.D. variety of my Brown Turkey

Q

Comments (15)
    Hello ayyubaddeen, What is the name of the nursery you got your Brown Turkey tree from? I got a Brown Turkey tree from Just Fruits and Exotics and the little figs have green eyes still. The leaves look a lot like your tree's leaves. My tree is still a little baby and the leaves aren't as large, or as dark green as your tree's leaves are. noss
    ...See More

i.d. fig variety please!!!

Q

Comments (50)