SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
genecolin

cutting rooting on wrong end

genecolin
14 years ago

I'm posting this again because the other post is locked and I couldn't add any comments. So I'm trying again.

I'm a novice but I have read a lot of posts and looked at hundreds of pictures of rooting cuttings but have never seen one like this or saw it discussed. Since a picture is worth a thousands words, take a look and then I'm open to suggestions as to what my step is. First is the top of the cutting with initial growing above the buds and the second is the bottom end with a bud showing and some swelling bumps. The cutting is about 3/4" diameter and about 3 1/2" long. Thanks for any comments.

Comments (26)

• genecolin
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks gorgi and Paully for your replies to the other post. I thought about putting it horizontal but the root is also on the wrong side of the cutting. I guess I'll watch it for a few more days and then put it in a cup.

• danab_z9_la
    14 years ago

Hi Gene,

My cuttings often do that too. I'm researching single node rooting and that's what I like to see....a root on every node.

Your picture shows both root initials (those round white freckles near each bud/node) and some cutting barking (those white raised areas between the nodes). Also, if you look at the bottom cut of your cutting you can see the callous that has formed. Whenever I see a well developed callous on my baggie cutting (even if no roots have grown out), I will move it into my rooting cups.

Dan
    Working on a reliable single node rooting method.....

• Related Discussions

Actinidia cuttings rooted...from the wrong end

Q

Comments (3)