SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
saskadaisy

Questions about Therese Bugnet rose

saskadaisy
18 years ago

First of all, I'm relatively new to flower gardening, lurk and learn here a lot, so bear with me LOL!

I planted rosa Therese Bugnet in 1999, and a couple of years ago she finally reached about 5 feet in height. This year however, she is really floppy - all (except one) of her branches are very bent over, and many are touching the ground. She barely reaches 3 feet this year! Is this what she is supposed to be like? It looks so messy, IMO :) She also put out 3 suckers this year - is that normal since my reading did not indicate any suckering?

My husband thinks we should either cut her back, sacrificing her blooms, or tie her up somehow. Good grief, I can't imagine how on earth to tie her so she stands tall! Is there anything we can do to help her be stronger? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Peggy

Comments (27)

• abgardeneer
    18 years ago

Our 'Therese Bugnet' are over 6', but took a few years to get established, and were regularly knocked down by the balmy NW breezes here, and also used to experience some winter kill some years.
    Sounds as though you are having some winter kill on yours too, since you mention that the height is varying greatly from year to year. As the plant ages, and old wood survives, the shrub overall will become more upright (since the old wood is stiff and "woody").
    Most roses sucker, including 'Terese Bugnet'.

If it's interfering with a pathway, I would stake up the branches...otherwise, I'd just let it be. When we need to stake anything, we draw on our large supply of stakes that we bought from Lee Valley - they are green-plastic-coated metal rods with an open loop on the end to hold the stem - they come in two lengths, and are quite unobtrusive.

• glen3a
    18 years ago