SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
fawnridge69

A Contest!

fawnridge (Ricky)
15 years ago

I have been maintaining Ficus repens - Creeping Fig - for seven years now and I challenge you to show me a plant that requires more maintenance.

The rules - simple, it must be in the ground; pots don't count, and it must be a perennial.

The judges - all of us. Each time a new challenger comes to the ring, we will all judge his or her claim.

The prize - how about a 3 gallon can of Creeping Fig? No?

Okay, a signed copy of one of my books to the winner.

Let the games begin...

The furry wall in the photo below is where the problem starts. Where it ends can be anywhere there's soil; dozens, nay, hundreds, perhaps thousands of feet away.

Comments (62)

• fawnridge (Ricky)
    Original Author
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I have no experience with Elderberry. Anyone? Worse that Creeping Fig - Yes or No?

Anyone still fighting Spanish Shawl - Heterocentron elegans? That'd have to be a close second to CF.

• ladywingr
    15 years ago

Your creeping fig sounds pretty bad. If it's got fig/ficus in the name, I have no use for it whatsoever.

The bane of my existence is the neighbor's Cuban Laurel (ficus "something or the other that depends on who you talk to what the other word is") The original owner of the house planted this lovely, small shade tree in the late 70's.