SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
midnightsmum

Weekend Trivia -- Sunday

Happy Sunday morning, Cottagers!! We have been getting a light drifting of snow since yesterday afternoon - just enough to cover up the dirty snow piles, so it looks nice outside!! About -10C which is about 20F, not too bad.

Well, he was born James Patrick Page, named for his father, in Middlesex England, 1944. He became a Guitar God in the 60's, and is considered the king of the power riff. His early influences, like many English musicians, was North American rockabilly. He became a go-to session musician in London, before being invited to join the Yardbirds - actually, he was invited 3 times. The first time he turned the offer down because it meant replacing his friend Eric Clapton; the second time, he didn't want to give up the lucrative session work he had, and suggested another friend, Jeff Beck. I guess the third time was the charm.
Page was self-taught, and unable to read music. He was considered so good, that even unable to read music, clients would simply ask him to do what he pleased. Page's studio gigs in 1964 included Marianne Faithfull's "As Tears Go By", The Nashville Teens' "Tobacco Road", The Rolling Stones' "Heart of Stone" (released on Metamorphosis), Van Morrison & Them's "Baby Please Don't Go" and "Here Comes the Night", Dave Berry's "The Crying Game" and "My Baby Left Me", Brenda Lee's "Is It True," and Petula Clark's "Downtown". Whew, lucrative indeed.