SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
greenkid_2008

Overwintering Brugmansia Sanguinea

greenkid_2008
15 years ago

Hi, I have a Brugmansia Sanguinea that I started from seed early this spring, It is now about 8ft tall now and has just formed a natural 'Y', but it is too big to keep in my greenhouse as it is already growing into the roof!

I really don't want to induce dormancy and would prefer to keep her going through the winter.

So my question is how should I prune her just to reduce her height? I have read that I shouldn't cut off the 'Y', but she is just too tall, Could I cut her back to any point on her main stem? and would the lower nodes just bush out and grow up?

Also how easy is it to take cuttings from Brugmansia Sanguinea? Iv'e heard its quite hard...

Here are two pis of her, top and bottom...

{{gwi:570044}}

{{gwi:570045}}

Comments (28)

• knotz
    15 years ago

Wow...Yours grew great in one year from seed...Mine only got about 4' tall...This is my first year with them, so I don't know much :(

I cut mine down, so I'm not sure what to tell you but there are those on here that grow them and they can help you.

What color is yours??...I was given some seeds a few years ago that were labeled "red brug", so we're still trying to figure out what "kind" it is.

Very nice plant and I hope someone here can help you.

knotz

• greenkid_2008
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Hey thanks for your reply...She has grown exceptionally well this summer actually, and believe it or not I have only fed her about 4 times all Summer, with a very weak Miracle Grow All Purpose...about 1/4 strength.
    In answer to your question, mine is Red, it's a Brugmansia Sanguinea, which I believe is the only 'True' Red Brug, so it's more than likely that's what you have.
    So are you just going to store the root ball and bring it out next spring?

• Related Discussions

Help starting brugmansia sanguinea from seed

Q

Comments (12)