SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
peanut01_gw

My Brugmansia Project

peanut01
14 years ago

Hi all... I am new to Brugmansia and relatively new to this forum. I recently coerced a Nursery owner I know to offer me some of his Brugmansia cuttings from his yard down in FL. To be fair I offered to pay shipping and whatever he thought was a fair price. For $32 total I received 19 cuttings(I live in VA so I am positive I will have some to share if they grow too much and I have problems overwintering).

Here is a pic of my cuttings:

{{gwi:535714}}

I received:

3 x Temple Goddess

3 x Jean Pasko

3 x Versicolor Ecuador Pink

2 x Kell's Girlie Girl

2 x Versicolor Apricot

2 x Peaches N Cream

2 x F4 White hybrid (Frosty Pink x unknown)

{{gwi:535715}}

2 x His Pink insignia hybrid

{{gwi:535716}}

At this time I am attempting to root them all. I have them potted up in a homemade compost mix. I felt the need to give them extra support by way of a rubber band and some skewers.

Here is a pic of my Brugs attempting to root:

{{gwi:535717}}

Brugs seem a lot easier than Plumeria to root. I accidentally knocked one of my Brug cuttings over and already noticed roots forming. I think my cuttings seem to be going good. I only have a couple of questions at this time... How long will I be able to hold these cuttings in these little pots? I was hoping to overwinter them inside and hope for a little growth overwinter then plant them in the ground next year. Also I have one other Brug that I purchased earlier this year... I have a couple questions pertaining to it.

Here is a pic of a unknown yellow I picked up at a Farmer's Market:

{{gwi:535718}}

Is there any chance I will be able to get this Brug to bloom in VA before winter? Also I have not noticed much growth on it since I purchased it... Do Brugs not like being in pots? If I plant this guy in the ground now would I have enough growing time to get blooms if I wouldn't in the pot?