SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
smeep_gw

A few avocado tree questions

smeep
11 years ago

Hi everyone,

In my yard, part way up a slope, there are two avocado trees that I planted two years ago, a GEM and a Reed. They are about 3 feet high and planted in the same hole, 18 inches apart. I'm new to growing avocado trees and the advice given by the local nursery doesn't always seem to match the advice on Gardenweb and other sites, so I thought I'd ask some questions here. Hopefully someone can help me.

1) The GEM seems like it's doing great! Lush foliage and even a few tiny avocados on some of the branches. The Reed, however, got that thing where the leaf tips turn brown, it spreads to more of the leaf and then it falls off. I think this happened over the past couple months. The tree basically dropped all its leaves, although it did flower and now there is new growth coming back from the tips of the branches. Is this just a normal thing for this type of tree or is something wrong?

2) The Reed grew a bunch of flower stalks recently, but it looks like no fruit resulted. I didn't watch it closely enough to get many details on this, but basically the tree has a bunch of those barren flower stalks with nothing to show for it. Maybe it's just too young to bear fruit? Or could something else cause this?

3) I know it's hard to advise on this, but how much water should these guys get? They're part way up a south-facing slope, I'm in South Orange County so the soil is basically clay, although I backfilled the hole by mixing in 50% of a planting mix that has lots of gravel or something for aeration and drainage. The trees are watered by three drip irrigation emitters for 1-2 hours every few days. I think the emitters total up to 2 or 3 GPH. Plus, they get hit by the regular sprinklers three times a week.