SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
buckeye_brian

I am falling for bees...and I don't even have any!

buckeye_brian
16 years ago

Hey all...newbie here. I have been reading intently on this forum for the last week or so. I got to admit...I am developing a desire to get my own bees.

My grandparents lived next to a beekeeper when I was a little boy (Mr. Baker). He sold his honey with the comb in the jar. Once or twice a summer I would walk to his little stand (while visiting grandpa)and he would always give me a jar to take to my dad. My dad used to work on his farm when he was a kid and Mr. Baker was very fond of him. That honey was unbelievable.

I always thought the beekeepers were "super-human" individuals impervious to beestings. Reading all these posts has really educated me in "what you guys do." It really got me thinking about getting some bees.

I have already visited the bush farm website (lots of info) and have written down all the Bee books recommended. I will be checking the library soon.

I live on 7 +/- acres in SW Ohio with corn and soybeans as far as the eye can see around me. There is also a lot of woods and veggies gardens everywhere (I will have about a 1/2 acre garden myself). I live on a creek so there is a fresh water supply. How do you think my place would do with bees?

I do not know of anyone around my area that has bees. But like so many of you guys have said...some of your neighbors wouldn't know you had them unless you told them...so maybe there are some???

Thanks for the info...I would be interested in hearing your thoughts.

Brian

Comments (6)

• tonybeeguy
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Brian, Welcome to the forum. I'm glad to hear that you are excited about bees. A friend put two hives in my yard for a year and he showed my the ropes as I helped take care of them and I was hooked.