SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
moshi_gw

Bare front yard -- what to plant

moshi
14 years ago

Just bought a house. The front yard is completely bare, and we would like to fix that. The idea isn't so much to provide shade, as to make the front yard pretty. It's just a bare (and muddy -- which is another problem...) lawn at the moment.

We don't plan to stay in this house for longer than 3-4 years at the most (for various reasons), so it would be ideal to have something that either starts out big or grows real fast....

Any suggestions? When is a good time to plant such trees? Do I need to wait until the spring?

This is our first home, I'm a complete novice at this....

Thank you so much for any advice!!!

Comments (14)

• whaas_5a
    14 years ago

You could plant some trees, shrubs and perrenials.

• drrich2
    14 years ago

Need more info.

What USDA agricultural zone are you in?

Roughly how large is your yard, and how far would this tree be from your house, and from the sidewalk & road?

Do you have city sewer service or a septic tank?

About how tall do you want this tree to be?

Do you like evergreen conifers like cedar and spruce, or broad leaf deciduous trees like maple and oak?

To get you started, do a quick Google search for these:

1.) October Glory Red Maple Tree.

2.) Bloodgood Japanese Maple Tree.

3.) Northern Red Oak Tree.

4.) Paperbark Maple Tree (from China).

These are some trees a number of people like. None are conifers, though.

Richard.

• User
    14 years ago

Moshi,
    If you have alot of sun out front, observe sun exposure both front and back during day, and especially in spring, for sun, plant a larger crape myrtle tree.
    Just don't plant it too close to the water line that runs to your home from the street.(not right on top of one)
    Crape myrtles aren't real expensive for a decent size tree, and don't plant it too deep, try to mound it up abit.