SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
deannatoby

stubborn asclepais

Well, the huge majority of my jugs have sprouted. I just have a few stubborn ones holding out. I would be wondering (since I'm new and newbies always get prematurely nervous about unsprouted jugs--see my poisoned soil post) about Asclepias tuberosa had I not planted 4-5 jugs of them, different varietes and different seed sources.

That's one perennial that takes its time! Anybody remember when it might wake up? Also, does Aslcepias curassavica take a long time to sprout when compared to other annuals?

Comments (11)

• gardenweed_z6a
    14 years ago

Deanna - did you check the sprout chart for your zone on Wintersown.org website? It's got like every annual, perennial and vegetable with botanical name, common name, date WS and date sprouted information. I copied down the information for zone 6 into a MS Word document so I could enter my own sprout dates.
    This is my first year to WS and I'm doing very few annuals so I can't offer any experienced advice. Hope someone chimes in who has first-hand information for you.

• tiffy_z5_6_can
    14 years ago

Hi Deanna,

I've done many Asclepias including Incarnata, Speciosa, Tuberosa, Curassavica, etc.

Mine have only germianted in June and even early July. I'm just a bit north of you in Nova Scotia, Canada, and I do live close to the Atlantic so have a bit cooler temperature since we are along the coast.

If you are concerned about the heat we are getting, move the containers to a dappled shade area.