SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jackie_o_gw

Am I the ONLY one who doesn't care about fragrance?

jackie_o
16 years ago

I read so often that people have shovel pruned roses for not having fragrance and the list will be very long of people who feel the same way. I'm just wondering if there is anyone else like me out there in rose land lol.

Truly, I haven't got a single rose that I can smell without shoving my nose right in the bloom. (and I have a very good sense of smell).

I like the fragrance of Jude, Othello, Star of the Nile, Golden Celebration. I think they are the most fragrant, but like I said, it's not like I can smell them as I walk by.

I think the only plants in my garden that are so fragrant that it carries are my oriental lilies, my philadelphus and a Miss Kim lilac that was here when we moved in.

I'm a graphic artist, so I'm a visual person. I want that beauty in my garden when I look out the window or stroll through it. I would never never be without Eden just because it doesn't have a strong fragrance. It's just too beautiful to live without.

I know there are lots of you out there that will tell me a rose without fragrance has no soul and all that, but what I really want to know is if there's anyone else out there who goes for visual rather than fragrance.

Comments (58)

• carla17
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I grow some that are not fragrant because they are great bushes. I am taken away by some of the fragrance. Like Jackie mentioned, Jude. Jude impresses me and I grow mostly roses that are fragrant, I'm into smells.

Carla

• jumbojimmy
    16 years ago

True what budford and Randy said...I fell in love with Comtes De Champagne from looking at Susan's rose gallery. Later I found out that CdC don't have much scent - but I'm still going to get it because that rose looks so ADORABLE!

• Related Discussions

Am I the only person who doesn't care if a dishwasher is quiet?

Q

Comments (17)