SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kenfl1

An Introduction, and some questions.

kenfl1
13 years ago

Hi guys,

I am a new member to GW; I have replied to some posts and read alot, but I would like to introduce myself a little bit and ask a few questions.

First, I am completely taken with roses, mainly OGRs and Austins, which most likely makes this forum my new home. My garden is an urban one, my partner and I currently live near downtown Tampa, in what was supposed to be an "up and coming" neighborhood. The economy kind of made that a moot point. Nevertheless, I have a nice little plot of land into which I can empty my pockets and frustrations. I am a full time grad student, so it does not get as much time as I would like, but it is still something I strive to work in. I am not nearly as knowledgeable as most of you, but I am learning and trying and love to get advice.

My garden currently consists of roses, and other flowers, but I am finding more and more that the roses are the things that I like to tend to, watch, and enjoy. That being said, I am as of now deconstructing and reconstructing the backyard with hopes of a rose-filled place of respite and joy. Currently I have a few HT's (which do not like me apparently) a few floribundas (ho-hum) 3 Austins, which have amazed me with bloom size and fragrance, and 6 OGRs which are my pride and joy so far because I was told growing own roots in Central Florida is suicide, and they are as of yet, not showing ANY signs of stopping or slowing. My plans are to fill all of the new beds with an assortment of both Austins and OGRs, with a few other plants here and there ( I have a collection of heirloom daylilies and a scattering of other things)

So now down to the questions (These will probably sound really silly):

I am attaching a link at the bottom to view the pictures of the gardens I am referring to, as I can not for the life of me figure out how to post pictures directly into a post.