SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
timshaw

Question about hot composting

timshaw
17 years ago

Hi all,

this is my first year composting. I have 3 4x4x3 foot pallet bins. Ingredients consisted of UCGs shredded leaves and alfalfa pellets. The pile stayed hot for about a month and a half. I have turned it weekly and the last time I turned it it was stone cold. Some of the leaves are still recognizable but soft. The leaves in this first batch were oak. I was wondering if the heating process is over and I should just let it cure or whether I should add some more greens?

Thanks for any advice

Comments (26)

• paulns
    17 years ago

You could inocculate each pile with redworms. An easy way to do this is to make a well in the middle and drop in a shovel full of horse manure. But chances are you have some worms in there already and just need to wait.
    Sounds like you've put lots of energy into those piles. I'd let 'the microherd' - bacteria and fungi, plus compost worms and Time finish the work.

• bpgreen
    17 years ago

If it stayed hot for a month and a half and has since turned cold, it has probably pretty much stopped composting.

I think you have three choices:

• Use it as is.

• Add more greens to heat it back up and/or get rid of all the leaves.

• Screen it, use the finished stuff, and add the unfinished stuff back to compost further.

There may be other options for you, and others will be sure to chime in with their thoughts.

I don't worry too much if my compost has small amounts of uncomposted material in it unless it's something like shredded paper and I'm planning to use it on my lawn. In that case, I screen it and add the uncomposted stuff back to the compost.

• Related Discussions

Half-finished hot-compost question

Q

Comments (3)