SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bbinpa

I'v Had It!-Spraying Pesticides for Rose Midge

bbinpa
16 years ago

I guess I've been spraying pesticides for Rose Midge for 3 or 4 years now. Each time I spray, I hate myself a little more. I now have serious bag worms on my evergreens to the point where I've lost 2 Arborvite and 2 False Cypruss. Web worms completely defoliate my Thornless Honey Locust and of course Spider Mites run rampant. I haven't seen a Lady Bug since spring. The alternative to spraying for midge is equally bleak-no rose blooms! My regime this year included laying 6 or more layers of newspaper in the worst areas of infestation after treating with Bayers GrubEX, then including the pesticide of merit/cyflurthin with each spray routine. I also mulched heavily this spring. None of this has worked to eliminate rose midge. It is now time for drastic measures-shovel pruning the worst offenders!

I know who these are because each week I check for progress by cutting the growing tips of infected plants. This past weekend I shovel pruned Madame Isaac Pereire (a hand full of spring blooms and since not a single growing tip has been uninfected) and Rugelda (1 bloom all season and remaining tips all infected).

Other candidates for the sharp end of the shovel include:

Queen of Denmark-all growing tips since spring infested.

Sombreuil-Most growing tips infested since spring.

Leda, all growing tips since spring infested. This one really hurts because I'm so fond of her.

Felicite Parmentier-good spring bloom, all new growth infested. Painful too because she's a great rose.

Barron Gerod-less spring bloom this year-all new growth infested.

Comte de Chambord-some midge, but covered with spider mites.

2 Danae located in different beds-ditto CdC

Heritage-no spring bloom, sporadic bloom since but heavy midge infection.

Reicht President Von Hindenberg-1 bloom, remaining growth infested.

Therese Bugnet-no repeat bloom.