SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
adamark

Learning from our mistakes

adamark
14 years ago

I know, this is not a new post. I have spent entire weekend reading old posts - a wealth of information. However, I think, it would be fun and beneficial for us, newbees, to learn from your mistakes, and hopefully avoid them. This is my first year, no sprouts yet. However, I have a bunch of mistatkes already. If I would only read all those old post, many of those errors I would avoid. Here are some:

- be patient - do not sow ALL seeds including annuals at the beginning of Feb

- do not put your containers under the gutter (for "protection") - now I have a huge frozen cluster of containers with frozen soil and frozen seeds

- use larger pots - it seems that my individual small yogurt cups will be too small

- restrain yourself - what I'll do with all those sprouts (if they'll come), all those veggies....

So please, while you still waiting, dreaming about the spring and thinking about previous years, share with us your experiance and wisdom.

Better even if you would also share you successes along your failures. And pictures, please. We are all very visual people that is why we appreciate so much our gardens.....

Comments (52)

• auntyara
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

This is my 2nd year winter sowing and here's my 2cents.

Try very hard not to over seed your containers.
    Don't feel you have to separate every single seedling.
    plunk N run.

Ignore the nay sayers It's your garden, not theirs. lol.

Don't plant out as soon as they sprout. give them a few weeks. I stunted a lot of plants that way. It might have been the cold rainy summer we had too.

Believe. It really does work!

:)Laura

• brandymulvaine
    14 years ago

What I learned last winter/summer:
    -don't trust a sharpie
    -write the names on the bottom part of the jugs
    -it's better to have fewer jugs with enough soil that lots of jugs that are dried out
    -save the tops 'til June