SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
sunnny_gw

Ideas for LONG privacy fence??

sunnny
13 years ago

I'm fairly new to the rose forum but have been a GW girl for years. I LOVE this forum and thanks to my sister I'm now an antique rose addict (along with several other addictions such as Daylilies, hosta,etc)

We are building on 5 acres in beautiful East Texas. About 1/2 in trees and 1/2 open. I love one side because I have lovely Hosta and Hydrangea but the other side needs help. It's barbed wire which is open to our neighbors property. He has cows and horses which have eaten his land down to nothing and he has some junk that we'd like to conceal in an open/hedge/pergola type way.

What I envision is a series of 3 large shrub roses or one large cascading rose followed by a 6 ft tall and about 6-8 foot long trellis/arbor made from cedar from the land. This would run long ways parallel to the fence. I think it would be nice to plant 2 types of roses on here. My choice would be an evergreen climber combined with a good rebloomer for the Texas sun/heat. I'd plant the same shrub rose/cascading rose on each side of the trellis/arbor and then repeat this same combination once more further down the wire fence. The area is about 100 feet long so I can do anything I can dream of here.

It would be a set of rose ~ trellis ~ rose ~ trellis ~ rose.

My concern is winter! What can I plant that will soften the view? I don't care for a formal evergreen hedge but really hope to get some evergreen in this space. I've considered Oleanders but since we/they have horses they are VERY poisonous so that's not an option. I'm sure you'll send me packing for saying this but I'm open to things other than roses (but that would be my preference)

I'd like to eventually make deeper beds with more roses and other lovelies but for now I just want to get these started. Our soil is SAND SAND SAND. Did I tell you we have SAND for earth??? I will ammend well and it's nearly 100% sunny.