SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
wildflower_2009

Will it be too late to plant perennials from seeds in Summer?

wildflower_2009
13 years ago

I'm a newbie in gardening. I had planted perennials from seeds (Burpee) in this year early Spring. However, almost all of them didn't grow. =P

Now that it is mid summer, I am wondering whether I can plant them (from seeds) again now (or mid Aug to the latest). Will there be enough time for them to survive Fall/Winter and be able to come back next year? Or should I just try again in next Spring? I'm hoping to see the flowers next year without having to risk the disappointment of failure like this year.

List of plants I would like to plant from seed : Shasta Daisy (White Knight), Dianthus (Ipswich Pinks), Columbine, Candy Tuft, Lavender (Lady), Coreopsis (Early Sunrise), Chinese Lantern.

Thanks for your advice.

Comments (12)

• duluthinbloomz4
    13 years ago

My best advice would be to check in with the Winter Sowing forum people. Seems like a successful method if you have the inclination, time, and yard space for a bunch of containers.

I've never grown perennials from seed - other than the columbine (A. Canadenses) which grows wild here and the seeds are dropping naturally around the parent plant. The only thing I know about those is that they need light to germinate and those few seeds that do germinate won't bloom for the first year or two.

I suspect there is a certain excitement in growing from seed, but to get a perennial garden established relatively quickly with plants that are likely to bloom the first season, you pretty much have to buy them grown and potted from garden centers, big box stores, or wherever you can find them. Many perennials will be going on sale now or very soon since, alas, summer is half over.

I realize, too, there are budget constraints and seeds might seem to be the better bargain. But they're not such a good bargain if they don't grow.