SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
begonia2005

What should I do with my new AV-s now? Self-watering?

Begonia2005
12 years ago

I have recently bought two AV-s from the Pikes nursery and two from the grocery store - and now I am desperate to keep them in good shape and blooming. They are very beautiful right now because they just came from the store but I also know I am a newbie to houseplants and that this perfect picture won't last long.

I read up on AV-s, did my homework and I have done most of the things I read I need to do. Yet I still feel like I am not doing everything right.

1. I took them out of those thin plastic containers they came in, placed them in a 4 inch solid plastic container that was sold by Wal-Mart as "self-watering" (with a protruting lip and good drainage at the bottom).

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Mainstays-Self-Watering-Planter-Set-of-3-Ivory/12511406

2. I added a bit of extra AV commercial mix to fill up the pot.

3. I have placed them on an Eastern window in bright yet indirect light (behind a sheer curtain).

4. I have been careful not to overwater them so far.

5. I placed two of them in a container (like a deep breadloaf baking tray with water below the lip) so I can create humidity). I plan to buy some pebbles, as widely advised.

However, I am not sure whether I have the right soil and how to continue with the watering habits given my busy schedule.

I read that the soil the AV-s come in is not necessarily the best and that the best is a combination of half AV soil with half perlite. Should I change the soil now to make it more airy or should I wait to do this in 5-6 months from now when re-potting time comes?

I also don't know how to continue watering. I read that watering from below is best for AV-s but it is not clear to me what I should do.