SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
brit5467

Lavender - am novice - need HELP !!

brit5467
13 years ago

Currenty have Lavandula stoechas 'Passione' (so the tag says) in a gallon pot. Had it for a couple weeks now, and been testing it out in different locations. Doesn't seem to like full sun. Shriveled up. But no matter where I put it, don't think it's blooming like it's supposed to. At least not like pics I've seen.

Wondering if that's because it is still in the pot? Have pic (scanned) of a bloom. Don't know if this is prior to it getting flowers or after the fact since I'm new with this plant. I ask this since I've yet to see much lavender color on it at all.

I admit, I have not really looked hard at it on a day-to-day basis. So being unfamilar with this plant, I can't even tell what's old bloom and what's new.

Guess my point is, I expected lots of lilac colored flowers by now (like my Low Walker's Catmit (which is going wild) anf Russian Sage (not very full - has blooms but apparently not enough sun). So I plan to move that and replace with the Lavender.

Guess my main issue is, although it's a very healthy plant, I want COLOR where I plant it. And if this is all it's going to do then it's not enough color. Like I said, I've not watched it EVERY day but it seems it only gets a bit of flower here and there, like this pic. Are the blooms just not opening up all the way? Again, I don't understand this plant at all....so new to it.

Also, another issue - I planted another one (not same type - no ID tag) that outlived the winter in a 4" pot and it came back beautifully. But as soon as I planted it about a week ago, it died on me. Was told it may still has a root system and may come back. But I don't want to make same mistake with this very full, lush plant (minus blooms) so any help would be appreciated.

Hope this all makes sense.

{{gwi:244644}}

Comments (23)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    13 years ago