SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
imqtpi

Puppy-Proofing my Drip System...

imqtpi
16 years ago

Hi there! I'm a newbie to this forum (so be gentle!).

I was just starting to search when I stumbled onto the thread about PVC vs flexible black pipe. That seemed "close" - but I thought it might be better to start a new thread. I don't think this has been asked before (at least I couldn't find it!)

My story:

We've got a 1/4 acre lot in suburban San Jose - long, hot, dry summers - and I'm trying to maintain a quasi-tropical looking yard (Yes, I use drought-tolerant plants as much as possible, but supplemental water is still necessary)!

We do have a drip system: 1/2" flexible black tubing + 1/4" spaghetti lines w/barb connectors and individual drip emitters. It's all on the surface of the soil, but buried under a light layer of mulch for aesthetics and water conservation... This is all set-up on a series of automatic timers (appx 8 zones, I think) and it all originates with plain ol' City Water.

The system's been off for most of the winter, but "irrigation season" is about to begin...

My challenge:

We have three mini-Dachshunds; one is our "Problem Child!" Princess Annie is our long-haired girl, and the youngest. "Chronologically" she's no longer a puppy, but try telling her that! ;-) She *loves* to chew thru drip lines. Initially, she seemed to prefer the nice, chewy spaghetti lines and every summer afternoon I'd sit outside and play "Let's look for the newest geyser" (While seriously considering investing in Rain-Drip Stock!).

Over the winter, she seems to have "graduated" to the half-inch lines (probably b/c all of the 1/4" lines are long gone!). Pretty much, she's chewed thru about 50% of one of the longer lines, so I am faced with replacing a looooong run of pipe and all the individual emitters (GRRRR!).

My Question(s):