SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bgaviator

My perrenials aren't doing good already..please help!

bgaviator
11 years ago

I am new to perrenials this year, and in the dirt bed in front of the porch I have planted May Night Salvia in the middle (3 plants spaced properly apart)...Dwarf Coreopsis in front of and in between the Salvia....and then I put Blanket Flower Gallardia in the back. The area gets full sun. I have had the Salvia and the Coreopsis in the ground for about a week now, and the Blanket Flower I just picked up yesterday. Nothing seems to be doing well. The Coreopsis has stayed small and scraggly looking....each plant only has about two stalks with flowers......the Salvia is still kinda puny, with only two stalks on each plant that have blue blooms....and the Gallardia is doing the worst it seems....the leaves are droopy and very wilted looking. I had been giving my plants a good drink each night, and I even applied Miracle Grow Liguid Feed last night..I also put Cyprus Mulch around all of my plants too..I was expecting especially after the Miracle Grow application that the plants would perk up and start looking better, but this is not the case. It has still been getting relatively cool here in Ohio at night.....tonight's temps in the mid 40s.....the highs have only been in the low to mid 70s. I don't know if I'm over or under watering them....if the temps haven't been right...or a combination. I don't know what to think or do at this point. I have spent a lot of money on these plants, and I'd hate for them die already.

Comments (40)

• miclino
    11 years ago

expect a good lecture from Ken.