SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
oliver07_gw

Sub Compact Help

oliver07
16 years ago

I am considering a subcompact tractor purchase. I have two used models in my "neighborhood" in great condition. One is a JD 2210 and the other is a Kubota BX1500. I have no particular partiality toward either manufacturer as the limited research I have done to date indicates that both models will most likely outlast my needs properly maintained. They both come with a loader, 54"(JD) 48"(BX) MMM, turf tires (rears filled for ballast) and low hours 275(JD) 190(BX). After downloading some specifications, I am trying to find a justification for the $3300 price difference (JD higher) as they are both rated as SUB-Compacts. I like the JD but I can't find a reason to spend the difference beyond use of implements requiring more pto HP. I am no engineer but it seems to me that the real world work capability of either machine and for that matter any sub-compact is negligible beyond the use of a BH or a 60" mower. It would seem to me that HP would have little to do with 48 or 54" finish mowing, miscellaneous loader work and pushing snow. The real "power" comes from the wheels and both machine weigh nearly the same (JD 50# heavier). There are compacts out there that are a 1000# heavier with the same HP as the JD and far more capable. Is that JD HP really useable for such a small machine? Thoughts appreciated.

Comments (24)

• wolfe1
    16 years ago

Both machines are nice machines - how much will you mow? A extra few inches on the deck can make a difference in mowing time. Green paint has always come at a premium but it is rare to find someone unhappy with orange. $3,300.00 is a pretty big delta. I have green but if I was to test drive both and they both felt strong and comfortable- orange would be in my garage and I would keep the green in my wallet.

• kubotabx2200
    16 years ago

I think you already answered your own question. Get the Kubota BX1500 and save yourself the $3300.